The George Hail Free Library is a private library that serves as the town of Warren's public library.

It is a member of the Ocean State Libraries Consortium and a LORI (Libraries of Rhode Island) member.

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the library. It makes and approves policies, provides for funding, provides maintenance of the building and hires the library director.

The Board consists of eleven members, two of which are  appointed yearly by the Warren Town Council.  It meets the third Wednesday of every month at 7:00 pm. in the library. There are no meetings in July and August. Meetings are open to the public.

The library is a 501(c)(3).


Current members of the Board are:

John F. Millard, Ph.D - President

John Chaney - Vice President

Tony Rego - Treasurer 

David McCarthy - Secretary


Carol Gafford -- Town Council appointee

Jane Harrison

Paula Rooks

Thomas Wright